SICM in Mathematica

For some time, I’ve wanted to work through SICM (Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics — http://mitpress.mit.edu/SICM/). The book assumes MIT Scheme and scmutils, both free software packages.
 
Deepest learning comes from working through a whole topic, top to bottom, so I decided not to use their software stack, but to create a fresh software stack using their prose as a guide. I also decided to implement my work in Mathematica, which has lots of mathematical knowledge and visualization capabilities built in. That is ordinary stuff no one should want to reinvent. I’ve just started with this, but the results are already promising. I’ve managed to reproduce their numerical results exactly, plus I have some extra symbolic capabilities. I’m going to figure out how to post my results here.
~ by rebcabin on October 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
