Evaluation is NOT Universal (probably)

I deleted my blog entry from a few days ago (and reminded myself to use the Brady Bill in the future). I asserted that eager evaluation alone sufficed to simulate a Turing machine, but my proof had a flaw, and when I fixed the flaw, I had just reinvented the IO Monad, which does not depend on evaluation order, so my proof is trash. I no longer think evaluation alone accounts for any side-effecting computation, but I’m not sure one way or the other.
~ by rebcabin on December 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
